Queensland win 2018 AURL Interstate Challenge

After a break in 2017 to make way for the Universities Rugby League World Cup, the annual Australian Universities Rugby League Interstate Challenge match was played at St Marys Stadium, Western Sydney, on Sunday 24 June 2018, with Queensland Universities defeating NSW Universities 52-12.

It was a dominant display by Queensland who scored in the opening minutes after back rower Harry Pondekas fell on a loose ball in the NSW ingoal for the first of his three tries for the match.

The Uni Blues struggled to hold the Maroons attack except for brief periods before and after the break. Just on half time NSW winger Dallas Grieco crossed in the corner, to allow his side to go to the sheds behind 22-6. Straight after the start of the second half Blues fullback Dylan Izzard snatched a try he subsequently converted, narrowing the Maroon’s lead to 22-12.

However, that was the last the Blues would trouble the score keeper with Queensland piling on 5 more tries to take out out the match 52-12 and return home with the Challenge shield, which they have now held since 2014.

The match served as the selection trial for the AURL team to tour to South Africa in October, that squad being announced at the after match presentation (see team selection post).

Player of the Match: Dalton Phillips (Qld)

Qld Players’ Player: Harry Pondekas

NSW Players’ Player: Dylan Izzard

Queensland 52 (Tries: Harry Pondekas 3, Jayden Baker, Jack Mackin, Chris Ostwald, Braydon Torpy, Josh Rogers, Declan Morrissy; Goals: Brayden Torpy 7, Jayden Carroll 1) defeated NSW 12 (Tries: Dallas Grieco, Dylan Izzard; Goals Dylan Izzard 2)

Queensland Team

  1. Braydon Torpy (Sunshine Coast Uni)
  2. Jack Mackin (Ashmore TAFE)
  3. Jayden Carroll (Qld Uni of Technology)
  4. Declan Morrissy (Australian Catholic University)
  5. Jayden Baker (Qld Uni of Technology)
  6. Josh Rogers (Southern Cross Uni)
  7. Lane Ferling (Qld Uni of Technology)
  8. Kobe Tararo (TAFE Skills Tech)
  9. Chris Ostwald (c) (Qld Uni of Technology)
  10. Dylan Haaijer (Toowoomba TAFE)
  11. Dalton Phillips (Acacia Ridge TAFE)
  12. Matt Butler (University of Qld)
  13. Jesse Domic (BCA National)
  14. Sam Collins (Qld Uni of Technology)
  15. Harry Pondekas (Australian Catholic University)
  16. Zac Kerr (Australian Catholic University)
  17. Jack Peacock (Ashmore TAFE)
  18. Jake Strasser (On Site Assessing)

NSW Team

  1. Dylan Izzard (Australian Catholic University)
  2. Dallas Grieco (Australain College of Physical Education)
  3. Billy Butler (Meadowbank TAFE)
  4. Jake Lauder (Maitland TAFE)
  5. Malachi Morgan (Blacktown TAFE)
  6. Luke Jurd (Uni of Wollongong )
  7. Taylor Bennett (Strathfield TAFE)
  8. Matt Jurd (Uni ofWollongong)
  9. Cheyne Pike (Illawarra TAFE)
  10. Jesse Maxwell-Offen (Northern Beaches TAFE)
  11. Matthew Morgan (Macquarie Uni)
  12. Jak Cannel (Western Sydney University)
  13. Alex Fisher (Uni of Wollongong)
  14. Jake Johan (North Sydney TAFE)
  15. Tom Watkins (Edith Cowan Uni)
  16. Daniel Neill (Uni of Newcastle)
  17. Robert Tuliatu (Macquarie Uni)
  18. Scott Haynes (Uni of Newcastle)
Share This!