Grand Final Day Preview

After 9 gruelling rounds, 2 days of nines competition and 1 representative round, its time for the NSW Tertiary Students Rugby League to host its 49th Grand Final day and its shaping up to be a cracker with Macquarie University Warriors taking on the TAFE NSW Polecats for the Bill Buckley Memorial Trophy, followed by the main event of Sydney University Lions versus UTS Tigers for the 1st Division Tertiary Championship.

It’s the battle of the big cats when this years Minor Premiers Sydney Uni take on UTS, Sydney will be looking to take out its first title since 2002, while last year’s runners up UTS will be looking to go one better, and after their narrow 18 points to 10 win against the TAFE NSW Polecats in last weeks semi, they could carry enough momentum to win. This will be the first time that Sydney Uni will compete in the big dance since 2014, when they lost to UTS 28 points to 18, although the match is in the heart of Sydney Uni, being played at Oval Number 2, this will be the first Tertiary League matches to be played at the traditional home of Sydney Uni Rugby and the first time Sydney Uni will play inside its own campus this season.

Sydney Uni have been the pace setters this year, while UTS have slowly been hitting their straps in the lead up to the finals, defeating Sydney Uni on their last 2 times they meet in the rounds. But if Sydney Uni is to make history, not only do they have to stop the fast finishing Tigers, but also bring an end of the minor premiers curse, which has seen every minor premier defeated in the grand final, since 2008, when the Norwest Polecats (TAFE NSW Polecats) claimed the minor premiership and the title. So with UTS looking to claim its 10th title and Sydney Uni attempting to the break the minor premiers curse, its going to be cracker of a match.

Relive the 2014 Grand Final of UTS Tigers v Sydney University Lions

The Bill Buckley Memorial Trophy will see this years Nines Champions against most capped club in Tertiary League history, for Macquarie this will be their first Grand Final day appearance, since 2006 when they claimed the Bill Buckley Trophy and against the UWS Nirimba Polecats (TAFE NSW Polecats). The Polecats will be competing in its 55th grand final day match(From its 3 Grades) and after a slow start to the season, the Polecats finally found their mojo to get with 8 points last week of taking on Sydney Uni and be looking to claim the trophy for the first time in 21 years, while Macquarie Uni has only had one win the regular season, defeating the Polecats in the regular rounds and as any footballer knows, anything can happen on Grand Final day.

Relive the 2006 2nd Division Grand Final of Macquarie University Treefrogs v UWS Nirimba Polecats

So with all the action starting at 1:00pm with Mac Uni v Polecats following by the main event of Sydney Uni v UTS Tigers at 3:00pm, get down to Sydney Uni Oval No 2 and cheer your side home.

Match Day Details
Tertiary Championship: Sydney University Lions v UTS Tigers
Kick-off: 3:00pm
Bill Buckley Memorial Trophy: Macquarie University Warriors v TAFE NSW Polecats
Kick-off: 1:00pm
Ground: Sydney University Oval No. 2
Gates Open at 12:00pm

Sydney University Lions Team List
1. Troy Dargin
2. Gerry Masttrelli
3. Daniel Rowe
4. Ash Johnson
5. Max Linden-Smith
6. Jake Vrahnos
7. David Turner
8. Toby Lei
9. Jade Fergusan
10. Ernie Chiaschetti
11. Myles Fowler
12. Joe Andrews
13. Adam Vrahnos

14. Odyssey Laderas
15. Eroni Ligaivia
16.Kurt Lewis
17. Nick Kairouz
18. Graham Harns
19. Kazuki Fukushise
20. Yuki Mochizuki

UTS Tigers Team List
1. Tommy Windeatt ©
2. Jordan Kidis
3. Micah Vaki-Leong
4. Talakai Fauonuku
5. Marshal Boyd
6. Ben O’Reilly
7. Brady Webb
8. Yianni Calavrias
9. Thomas Sarangaya
10. Harry King
11. Ben Bronzon
12. Jono Paparoulas
13. Sean Manning

14. John Halias
15. Meli Katia
16. Steven Williams
17. Travis Cuscuna
18. Shahrom Rabinkhah
19. Sofeni Tuapo
20. Keith Weston
23. Clayton Byrne
28. Lee Johnston

Macquarie University Warriors Team List
1. Ryan Archer
2. Brendan Boath
3. Raymond Eid
4. Gabriel Farley
5. Rubenz Gomes
6. Josh Gooley
7. Nicholas Gorst
8. Mathew Henman
9. Ryan Hobbs
10. Blake Jeffriess
11. Robert Jones
12. Thinh Nguyen
13. Sam Palmer

14. Adrian Pirrelllo
15. Moni Pakileata
16. Corey Stewart
17. Luke Wheeler
18. Lorence Maroon
19. Greg Aboumelham

TAFE NSW Polecats Team List
1. Cyrus Murray
2. Joseph Wehbe
3. Mitch King
4. Russell Murtha
5. Michael Klapsogiannis
6. Jake Williams
7. Torie Willie
8. Dennis Curry
9. Shane Brown ©
10. Greg Dowd
11. Greg Cranny
12. Ben Carter
13. Tim Curley

14. Scott Brown
15. Josh Kabboura
16. Joe Mapasua
17. Bruce Faufili
18. Ricky Planca
19. Anthony Haywood
20. Tupou Lutua





Share This!