NSW Tertiary Residents Take Back the Tas Baitieri Cup

Played in summer like conditions at HE Laybutt Field, Blacktown on Saturday 24 August 2019, NSW Tertiary Residents were victorious over their Queensland counterparts in the annual Tas Baitieri Tertiary Residents Interstate Challenge, winning 20-10. The conditions enabled a fast and open match which kept the healthy crowd entertained until the final whistle.
The opening period produced a great forward tussle with both packs endeavouring to gain control, but the inability of the NSW side to maintain possession played into Queensland’s hands and Jake Kearnan scored out wide mid way through the half. The Maroons then started really rolling on with consistent play and few errors. With 10 minutes to go in the opening stanza former AURL rep player Jesse Domic charged over close to the line and near the posts to score for Queensland and the conversion by Cody Feldman saw Queensland go to the break leading 10-0.
The break must have stirred the men in blue as they came out roaring in the second half. The visitors were able to hold the Blues out until the 20th minute when a left side back line move put winger Jason Hanna in the corner A sideline conversion by Tori Willie put NSW right back in the match trailing 10-6.
NSW continued to focus play down their left side and it wasn’t long before Hanna crossed again in almost the same place as before to level the scores and with only minutes remaining Riki Willie scored and his brother’s conversion put the Blues in front 16-10.
Right on full time Matt Thomas for NSW scored to make the final score 20-10.
The encounter overall was tough and physical, played in unseasonably warm weather. Both teams can be proud of the manner in which it was played; with great skill, endurance and discipline.
Match Awards:
Queensland Players’ Player – Max Sellars
NSW Players’ Player – Tori Willie
Most Outstanding Player – Riki Willie
NSW Tertiary Residents 20 (Tries: Jason Hanna 2, Riki Willie, Matt Thomas, Goals: Tori Willie 2) defeated Queensland Tertiary Residents 10 (Tries: Jake Kearnan, Jesse Domic, Goal: Cody Feltham)
Team Lists
1. Nicholas Khoury (Cumberland College)
2. John Hunter (UTS)
3. Tom Windeatt (UTS)
4. Riki Willie (TAFE NSW)
5. Jason Hanna (WS Uni)
6. Tori Willie (TAFE NSW)
7. Jake Vrahnos (Sydney Uni)
8. Bruce Faufili (TAFE NSW)
9. Shane Brown (c) (TAFE NSW)
10. Nawruz Kanogata’a (WS Uni)
11. Harry King (UTS)
12. Shiem Fuimaono (TAFE NSW)
13. Alex Kouventaris (UTS)
14. Brady Webb (UTS)
15. Greg Cranney (TAFE NSW)
16. Iszak Taalili (TAFE NSW)
17. Chris Teuma (Cumberland College)
18. Matt Thomas (TAFE NSW)
Coach: Matt Olsen (UTS)
Asst Coach: Dennis Curry (TAFE NSW)
Physio: Travis Cuscuna (UTS)
Trainer: Ryan Elson (non-aligned)
Manager: Bob Henderson (non-aligned)
1. Sean Dermba (Griffith Uni)
2. Maverick Sooalo (Griffith Uni – Gold Coast)
3. Daniel Watkins (Griffith Uni – Logan)
4. Patryk Koch (Uni of Qld)
5. Jake Kearnan (Griffith Uni)
6. Cody Feltham (Griffith Uni – Gold Coast)
7. Nicholas Trevisiol (QUT)
8. Kurt Sparey (Grithith Uni – Logan)
9. Jesse Domic (Uni of Qld)
10. Max Sellars (QUT)
11. Laithan Joseph (Griffith Uni – Logan)
12. Dominic Haidke (Uni of Qld)
13. Matthew Butler (Geiffith Uni)
14. Hayden Bartlett (QUT)
15. Lachlan McLean (Uni of Qld)
16. Patrick Robinson (Uni of Qld)
17. Jordan Cairns-Hillhouse (QUT)
18. Connor Bohan (Griffith Uni)
Coach: Scott Barker
Asst Coach: Blake Trace
Trainers: Dave Ballard & Mitch Chad
Manager: Shaun Urquhart

Share This!