Queensland Win 2019 Interstate Challenge Match 28-10

The annual Universities Interstate Challenge match was played Saturday 11 May 2019 at Langlands Park, East Brisbane, with the Queensland side keeping possession of the trophy for yet another year, defeating NSW 28-10.
Typical of any rugby league match between the two states, it was played at high intensity and the first 20 minutes was a display of some bruising defence from both sides, until a dropped ball by the Blues near their their own line opened the door for the first try of the match to Queensland winger Jake Sparey. 10 minutes later and an intercept by Queensland centre Sam Collins saw him race down the field to score, taking his team to the break leading 10-0.
The second half was only 5 minutes old when the NSW side made its first impression on the scoreboard, with second rower Trent Peoples barging his way over the line. The Maroons were quick to respond with Collins clocking up his double but the Blues came back moments later when Lock Royce Tout crossed under the posts.
The match was still in the balance with 10 minutes remaining, but it was the home side who lifted, posting 3 unanswered tries; to Josh Rogers, a second for Sparey and right on the bell to hooker Jack Miers.
Queensland Coach Mark Gliddon was full of praise for fullback Brayden Torpy and Josh Rogers:
“I thought Torpy and Rogers were outstanding for us. However, the whole side were courageous given the big NSW pack, but we held our own” Gliddon said.
A disappointed NSW coach Drew Dalton was proud of his team’s efforts:
I think we were superb up the middle with our forwards, but in the end Queensland were too good out wide, making us pay for our errors” Dalton said.
Queensland Universities 28 (Tries: Jake Sparey 2, Sam Collins 2, Josh Rogers, Jack Miers; Goals Brayden Torpy 2) defeated NSW Universities 10 (Tries: Trent Peoples, Royce Tout; Goal: Dylan Izzard
Player of the Match:
Dalton Phillips (Qld)
Players’ Player:
Qld – Josh Rogers
NSW: Matthew Jurd
The Teams:
1. Brayden Torpy (Central Qld Uni)
2. Jordan Perrins-Phillips (Murray Mallee TC)
3. Declan Morrisy (Australian Catholic Uni Brisbane)
4. Sam Collins (Qld Uni of Tech)
5. Jake Sparey (Griffith Uni)
6. Josh Rogers (Southern Cross Uni)
7. Josh James (Qld Uni of Tech)
15. Cody McIntosh (Central Qld Uni)
9. Jack Miers (Australin TC)
10. Jack Brock (Central Qld Uni)
11. Ryan Cameron (Uni of Qld)
16. Tom Rafter (Uni of Sunshine Coast)
13. Dalton Phillips (C) (TAFE Qld)
8. Dylan Haiijer (TAFE Qld)
12. Brock Richardson All Trades Qld)
14. Harrison Graham (Qld Uni of Tech)
17. Matt Butler (Griffith Uni)
18. Hector Hilberto (Uni of Qld)
Coach: Mark Gliddon
Asst Coach: Jody Barlow
Physio: Mitch Chad
Trainers/S&C: Henry I’iga & Paul Hamson
Management: Trad McLean & Martin Unicomb

1. Dylan Izzard (Australian Catholic Uni Sydney)
2. Samaka Isaacs (Macquarie Uni)
3. Nick O’Meley (Wyong TAFE)
4. Jack Gibbons (Australian Inst of Fitness)
5. Brayden Stewart-Thomas (Wollongong TAFE)
6. Tom Watkins (Edith Cowan Uni)
7. Luke Jurd (Uni of Wollongong)
8. Matthew Jurd (C) (Uni of Wollongong)
9. Maverick Tweedie (Wollongong TAFE)
10. Matt Sheppard (Uni of Wollongong)
11. Trent Peoples (Uni of Wollongong)
12. Reed Izzard (TAFE NSW)
13. Royce Tout (Macquarie Uni)
14. Alec Bush (Western Sydney Uni)
15. Harrison Leonard (Aust. College of Physical Ed)
16. Jack Cross (Uni of Wollongong)
17. Alex Fisher (Uni of Wollongong)
18. Cheyne Pike (Illawarra TAFE)
Coach: Drew Dalton
Asst Coach: Luke Muttdon
Physio: Adam Meridith
Trainers/S&C:Ryan Elson & Clive Lang
Management: Bob Henderson & Mick Williams

Share This!