Second Tour Match a Big Win to the Aussies

The second match on the AURL 2019 Fiji Tour was played Tuesday 16 October at Churchill Park Lautoka against their touring counterparts, New Zealand Universities, with the Aussies winning 70-0.
Played in hot and humid conditions the Aussies started well, defending strongly and only 9 minutes into the match Sam Collins crossed for what would be the first of his 4 tries for the match. Soon after Jake Sparey scored and with Dylan Izzard converting both tries the Aussies held an early 12-0 lead and never looked back.
Sustained pressure from Australia assisted by receiving repeat penalties, saw Declan Morrissey crash over wide out. After a series of set plays Jack Brock offloaded a great inside ball to a flying Dylan Izzard who then linked with Ryan Cameron to see him cross under the posts. Soon after the Aussies broke through the Kiwi’s left edge and Izzard gathered the ball from a kick through to score. At the 25th minute mark the Kiwi’s were clearly in trouble and their frustrations came to a head after Jack Brock crashed over and the referee award an 8 point try.
The Aussies continued to apply pressure with Collins crossing twice, both tries converted by Jack Miers, who had taken over the kicking duties. Miers himself picked up a four pointer right on half time for the Aussies to go to the break ahead 52-0.
An early Kiwi error in the second half gifted Sean Dermba the ball and he stepped his opposite winger to cross wide out. The heat by this stage had taken its toll on both teams but the Aussies defended strongly, Matt Butler in particular coming up with several huge hits. Nick O’Meley ran 70 metres to score late in the match and Miers collected his second near the final whistle.

AURL 70 (Tries: Sam Collins 4, Jack Miers 2, Jake Sparey, Declan Morrissey, Ryan Cameron, Dylan Izzard, Jack Brock, Sean Dermba, Nick O’Meley; Goals: Jack Miers 6, Dylan Izzard 3. defeated New Zealand Universities 0

Players’ Player: Sam Collins

Team List
1. Dylan Izzard (ACU)
2. Jake Sparey (Griffith Uni -Logan)
3. Declan Morrissey (ACU)
4. Sam Collins (QUT)
5. Nick O’Meley (Wyong TAFE)
6. Jack Miers (Aus Trade College)
7. Ryan Cameron (Uni of Qld)
8. Jack Brock (Central Qld Uni)
9. Harrison Graham (QUT)
10. Harrison Leonard (ACPE)
11. Jack Cross (Uni of W’gong)
12. Trent Peoples (Uni of W’gong)
13. Dalton Phillips (Mooloobah TAFE)
14. Max Sellars (QUT)
15. Matt Butler (Giffith Uni)
16. Sean Dermba (Griffith College)
17. Royce Tout (Mac Uni)
18. Matt Sheppard (Uni of W’gong)
19. Alec Bush (West Syd Uni)
Coach: Todd Edwards
Training Staff: Grant Stephensen (Asst Coach), Mitch Chad (Physio), Ryan Elson & Adam Meridith
Manager: Bob Henderson

Share This!